This is the website for an algebraic topology conference series meeting every two years in San Juan, Puerto Rico supported by the National Science Foundation, Purdue University, the Institute of the Mathematical Sciences of the Americas at the University of Miami, and the University of Puerto Rico. The conferences will feature a variety of events focusing on recent developments in algebraic topology and their applications to geometry, physics, and data science.

The next iteration of the series will occur on June 5 - June 14, 2024. This event will have three parts. From June 5th to June 7th it will feature three introductory mini-courses on the topics of configuration spaces, algebraic K-theory, and string topology accessible to graduate students and researchers in related fields outside algebraic topology. On June 8th, there will be a special event directed towards the general public and it will include two talks and a discussion session. The main research conference will take place from June 10th to June 14th and will feature talks by invited speakers as well as contributed talks. Everything will take place in (possibly different venues) in San Juan, Puerto Rico (TBD). More information will be available soon.

Registration for the 2024 conference will close on March 15, 2024.


The preliminary confirmed speakers for Algebraic structures in topology, II, 2024 include:

  • Omar Antolín Camarena (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México)
  • Luciana Basualdo Bonatto (Max Planck Institute at Bonn)
  • Mark Behrens (University of Notre Dame)
  • Eugenia Ellis (Universidad de la Républica de Uruguay)
  • Teena Gerhardt (Michigan State University)
  • Søren Galatius (University of Copenhagen)
  • Jeremy Hahn (MIT)
  • Mike Hill (University of California - Los Angeles)
  • Ben Knudsen (Northeastern University)
  • Florian Naef (Trinity College Dublin)
  • Sam Nariman (Purdue University)
  • Angélica Osorno (Reed College)
  • Jose Perea (Northeastern University)
  • J.D. Quigley (University of Virginia)
  • Emily Riehl (Johns Hopkins University)
  • Maru Sarazola (University of Minnesota)
  • Bernardo Uribe (Universidad del Norte, Barranquilla, Colombia)
  • Allen Yuan (Northwestern University)
Teena Gerhardt, Ben Knudsen, and Florian Naef will offer introductory mini-courses on the topics of algebraic K-theory, configuration spaces, and string topology, respectively.


If you have any questions you may contact the organizers (Manuel Rivera, Jeremy Miller, Mona Merling, Ralph Kaufmann, Natalia Pacheco-Tallaj) at algptoppr at gmail dot com.



Funding is available for both domestic and international graduate students.


Purdue University